HBK would like to remind employers that Florida expanded its new hire and independent contractor reporting requirements. This legislation took effect on October 1, 2021.
What does it mean for Florida employers?
First, the legislation removed the prior 250-employee threshold for new hire reporting. Now all businesses are subject to new hire reporting. Second, the statute imposes a requirement to report independent contractors paid more than $600 in the calendar year. The reporting of independent contractors should occur within 20 days of the contract start date or date of first payment.
Currently, there are no penalties for non-compliance with the reporting requirements. If employers have not yet reported independent contractors, they should report all contractors who have exceeded the $600 threshold in 2022.